Find a retailer

FAQ

Installation

Is the installation on an OSB (oriented strand board; shavings, Aspenite) subfloor guaranteed?

IN ORDER TO ENSURE THE STABILITY OF OUR HARDWOOD FLOORING PRODUCTS, IT IS VERY IMPORTANT FOR THEIR INSTALLATION TO BE MADE ON A PLYWOOD SUBFLOOR, AND FOR THE NAILING OR STAPLING OF THE BOARDS TO BE MADE ACCORDING TO THE STANDARD OF THE N.W.F.A., WHICH APPLIES TO EACH BOARD WIDTH.

A 3/4 in. thick floor (19 mm) installed on an OSB subfloor that would not have been glued in addition to being nailed or stapled automatically loses any form of guarantee. Before proceeding to the installation of any hardwood floor covering, the installer must make sure that the humidity rate of the subfloor does not exceed the percentage determined by Parquets Alexandra.

Is it possible to install a 3/4 in. solid hardwood floor on a radiant floor?

Yes, it is now possible to install our pre-oiled floor on a radiant floor, and even on a concrete floor. However, we guarantee this type of installation only with a hot water, hot air or glycol heating system. The warranty is not valid with an electric radiant system.

Why? Because the floor breathes more!

Maintenance

How do I get rid of a white mark on my pre-oiled floor?

A white mark left on the floor by the moving of a furniture is easily fixable by using some regenerating oil. See explanatory documents to proceed with the repair.

Instructions with pictures: Download PDF

Detailed instructions: Downlaod PDF

How to get a drop of paint off of my pre-oiled floor?

Even if it is dry or if it has been wiped, it is possible for you to remove a drop of paint from your floor with the help of some finishing oil by following the instructions.

Instructions with pictures: Download PDF

Detailed instructions: Download PDF

Can I repair a floor damaged by animal urine?

Animal urine being very acid, it burns the fiber of the wood. Fortunately, with pre-oiled wood, this can be 100% repairable. You must return the wood to its rough origin by sanding it and then proceed to reoiling it with impregnating and finishing oil.

My floor is turning greyish and it always has an unclean look, even after I have washed it...

A pre-oiled floor becoming greyish is the result of an inadequate maintenance (use of the wrong products) or a lack of protection (new construction or renovation).

You can return your floor to its original state by using regenerating oil. The application of this oil will clean your floor in depth and will remove any traces of contamination.

What is the ideal water temperature to wash my floor?

One thing's for sure: you should never use hot water to wash your floor. Hot water will open the wood fibers as it opens your skin pores. It lets dirt penetrate into your floor instead of removing it all. Use lukewarm water instead.

May I use vinegar to clean my floor?

Vinegar is to be avoided for the maintenance of your floor; it will damage it. It will damage the finish of your prefinished floor (the floor finish shine will be burned), and for a pre-oiled floor, since the finish is an integral part of the wood, you will damage the wood fiber itself. In both cases, you will cause a big long-term problem to your floor.

What type of mop should I use?

First of all, whatever the type of finish, you must at any time avoid putting your mop in the washing machine. Detergents and softeners will leave a greasy residue on the mop, which will then remain on your floor. On a prefinished floor, footstep marks will show, whereas, on an oiled floor, a whitish film will always remain on the surface.

Type of mop: Downlaod PDF

May I use a steam (H2O) mop?

For an oiled floor, it is strongly recommended not to use a steam mop since humidity opens the wood fibers; that literally lets the dirt penetrate into your floor.

Trouver un détaillant

FAQ

Installation

Est-ce que l'installation sur un sous-plancher d'OSB (oriented strand board; panneaux de copeaux, Aspenite) est garantie ?

AFIN D’ASSURER UNE EXCELLENTE STABILITÉ À NOS PRODUITS DE RECOUVREMENT EN BOIS DUR, IL EST TRÈS IMPORTANT QU'ILS SOIENT INSTALLÉS SUR DES SUBSTRATS DE CONTREPLAQUÉ ET QUE L’ENCLOUAGE OU L’AGRAFAGE DES PLANCHES SOIT FAIT SUIVANT LA NORME N.W.F.A., QUI S’APPLIQUE À CHACUNE DES LARGEURS DE PLANCHES.

Un produit de plancher de 3/4 po (19 mm) d'épaisseur installé sur un substrat de type OSB qui n’aurait pas été encollé en plus d’être cloué ou agrafé perd automatiquement toute forme de garantie. Avant de procéder à l’installation de tout recouvrement de sol, l'installateur doit impérativement s’assurer que le taux d’humidité du substrat ne dépasse pas le pourcentage déterminé par Parquets Alexandra.

Est-ce possible d'installer un bois franc massif de 3/4 po sur un plancher radiant ?

Effectivement, il est maintenant possible d'installer notre plancher huilé sur un plancher radiant, et même sur du béton. Par contre, nous ne garantissons ce type d'installation qu'avec un système de chauffage à l'eau chaude, à air chaud ou au glycol. La garantie n'est pas valide avec un système radiant électrique.

Pourquoi ? Parce que le plancher respire davantage !

Entretien

Comment se débarrasser d'une trace de meuble blanchâtre sur un plancher préhuilé ?

Une trace blanchâtre laissée sur le plancher à la suite du déplacement d'un meuble est facilement réparable en utilisant de l'huile regénératrice. Voir les documents explicatifs pour procéder à la réparation.

Documentation avec photos : Télécharger le PDF

Documentation détaillée : Télécharger le PDF

Comment nettoyer une goutte de peinture sur un plancher préhuilé ?

Qu'elle soit sèche ou essuyée, il vous sera possible de faire disparaître une goutte de peinture avec de l'huile de finition en suivant les instructions suivantes.

Instructions avec photos : Télécharger le PDF

Instructions détaillées : Télécharger le PDF

Comment réparer un plancher abîmé par de l'urine d'animaux ?

L'urine d'animal étant très acide, elle brûle la fibre du bois. Heureusement, avec un plancher huilé, le tout est réparable à 100 %. Il vous suffit de ramener le bois à l'état brut par sablage et de procéder au rehuilage de votre plancher avec l'huile imprégnante (couleur) suivie de l'huile de finition.

Mon plancher est devenu grisâtre et a toujours l'air malpropre, même après que je l'aie lavé...

Un plancher huilé devenu grisonnant est le résultat d'un entretien inadéquat (mauvais produit utilisé) ou d'un manque de protection (nouvelle construction, rénovation).

Vous pouvez ramener votre plancher à son état d'origine en utilisant notre huile régénératrice. L'application de cette huile nettoiera votre plancher en profondeur et enlèvera toutes traces de contaminant.

Quelle est la température idéale de l'eau lorsque je lave mon plancher ?

Une chose est sûre : il ne faut jamais utiliser de l'eau chaude pour laver votre plancher. L'eau chaude ouvrira les fibres du bois comme elle fait ouvrir vos pores de peau. Cela laisse pénétrer la saleté dans votre plancher plutôt que de la retirer. Optez plutôt pour de l'eau tiède.

Puis-je utiliser du vinaigre pour laver mon plancher ?

Le vinaigre est à proscrire pour l'entretien de votre plancher; il abîmera votre plancher. Dans le cas du plancher verni, vous abîmerez la finition (le lustre sera brûlé) et dans le cas du plancher huilé, la finition faisant partie intégrante du bois, vous abîmerez la fibre du plancher. Dans les deux cas, vous causerez un problème majeur à votre plancher à long terme.

Et peu importe le type de finition de votre plancher, évitez à tout prix de mettre votre vadrouille dans la laveuse. Les détergents et assouplisseurs laissent des corps gras sur les vadrouilles et se déposeront par la suite sur votre plancher. Sur un plancher verni, toutes les traces de pas paraîtront, et sur un huilé, un film blanchâtre demeurera toujours à la surface.

Puis-je utiliser une vadrouille à vapeur style « H2O mop » ?

Pour un plancher huilé, il est fortement déconseillé d'utiliser une vadrouille à vapeur puisque l'humidité fait ouvrir les fibres du bois; cela laisse toute la saleté pénétrer dans votre plancher.